Opening Remarks for MCHPC'18: Workshop on Memory Centric High Performance Computing

in conjunction with SC18

9:00AM - 5:30PM, November 11, 2018

Yonghong Yan (University of South Carolina) Ron Brightwell (Sandia National Laboratory) Xian-He Sun (Illinois Institute of Technology) Maya B Gokhale (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)

https://passlab.github.io/mchpc/mchpc2018/

Morning and Afternoon Program

Provide Your Feedback: https://submissions.supercomputing.org/eval.html

- 9:00 AM 9:05 AM Opening, MCHPC'18 Organizers
- 09:05 AM 10:00 AM Session 1: Morning Keynote, <u>Converging Storage and</u> <u>Memory</u>, Frank T. Hady (Intel)
 - Session Chair: Yonghong Yan
- 10:30 AM 11:30 AM Session 2: Paper Presentation, Session Chair: Tom Deakin
- 11:30 AM 12:30 PM Session 3: Paper Presentation, Session Chair: Ivy Bo Peng
- 2:00 PM 3:00 PM Session 4: Afternoon Keynote, <u>All Tomorrow's Memory</u> <u>Systems</u>, <u>Bruce Jacob (University of Maryland at College Park)</u>
 - Session Chair: Ron Brightwell
- 3:30 PM 4:30 PM Session 5: Paper Presentation, Session Chair: Xian-He Sun
- 4:30 PM 5:30 PM Session 6: Panel, <u>Research Challenges in Memory-Centric</u> <u>Computing</u>, Moderator: Maya B Gokhale (LLNL)
 - Mike Ignatowski, Sr. Fellow Advanced Memory and Reconfigurable Computing AMD
 - Jonathan C. Beard, Staff Research Engineer Arm HPC | Future Memory/Compute Systems
 - Bruce Jacob Keystone Professor, University of Maryland at College Park
 - Michael A Heroux ECP director of Software Technology, Sandia National Laboratories

Appreciation and Acknowledgement

- All authors who submitted papers to this workshop
- Program committee members for providing us with highquality reviews under tight deadlines.
 - >= 3 reviews per paper
 - 6 regular and 3 short papers were selected from 12 submissions
- Thankful for our Keynote speakers and panelists
- Special thanks to ACM for publishing the proceedings in DL and Sandia for financial support
 - During SC18
 - https://passlab.github.io/mchpc/mchpc2018/MCHPC18Proceedings.pdf
- Thanks to SC'18 Workshop Chair Guillaume Aupy and Linklings team
- Sincere thanks are due to the attendees, we hope you enjoy.

Program Committee

- Ron Brightwell (Co-Chair, Sandia National Laboratory)
- Yonghong Yan (Co-Chair, University of South Carolina)
- Xian-He Sun (Illinois Institute of Technology)
- Maya B Gokhale (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
- Mingyu Chen (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
- Bronis R. de Supinski (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
- Tom Deakin (University of Bristol)
- Wendy Elasser (Arm Ltd)
- Hal Finkel (Argonne National Laboratory and LLVM Foundation)
- Kyle Hale (Illinois Institute of Technology)
- Jeff R. Hammond (Intel Corporation)
- Dong Li (University of California, Merced)
- Scott Lloyd (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
- Ivy B. Peng (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
- Christian Terboven (RWTH Aachen University)
- Alice Koniges (Univ. of Hawaii, Maui High Performance Computing Center)
- Xiaonan (Daniel) Tian (NVIDIA)